|
Home > Data > Sort > Sorting
Sort Data in Excel & Avoid Problems
|

|
How to sort in Excel list by row or column. Tips on how to avoid painful mistakes when sorting your spreadsheets. How to sort multiple columns or rows, or sort in custom order.
|
|

Avoid Sorting Trouble: Check Your Data
In the sections below, there are 3 key steps, to help you avoid problems when sorting your data in Excel.
-- 1) Make a backup
-- 2) Check your data
-- 3) Fix blank rows and columns
1) Make a Backup of Your Data
Be sure to make a backup copy of your Microsoft Excel file, before you start sorting the data. Then, you can go back to the saved version, if anything goes wrong.
Tip: For a quick and easy backup copy, get my free Excel Backup tool. This tool makes a backup copy in the current folder, and does NOT affect the active workbook. The backup tool is in xlam format, so it's easy to install on your computer - just like any other Excel file.
2) Check Your Data
Before you sort data in Excel, be sure there are no blank rows or columns within
the data range on the worksheet. The steps below show how to do that.
Why is it important to check your data?
- If there is a blank row or blank column in
the data, part of the data might be sorted, while other data is not sorted.
- You could end up with names and phone numbers that don't
match, or orders with the wrong customer address.
- Check for formulas that include an sheet name, in references to cells on the current sheet. For a formula example, see the VLOOKUP Sorting Problem below.
How to Check For Blank Rows or Columns
To help prevent sorting problems, follow these steps before you sort Excel data:
- Select one cell in the column you want to sort.
- Press Ctrl + A, to select the entire region.
- Check the selected area, to make sure that all the data is included.
- For example, in the screen shot below, hidden column E is blank
- After pressing Ctrl+A, columns F, G (hidden), H and I are not selected.

3) Fix Blank Rows and Columns
- If some of the data was NOT selected, find the blank rows or columns
- You might need to unhide rows or columns, to find the blank ones
- After you find a blank row or column:
- If the blank row or column is not needed, delete it
- If the blank row or column IS needed, enter at least one item in the row or column.
- For example, type an "x" in a column heading, as a placeholder.
Then, after you fix any blank columns or rows:
- Press Ctrl + A again, to see if the entire region is selected.
- If not, look for other blank rows or columns, and delete or fill them
- If the entire region IS selected, the data can be safely sorted
Quick Sort With Sort Buttons
In Excel, you can quickly sort your data by using the A-Z (ascending order) and Z-A
(descending order) buttons on the Ribbon's Data tab.
Follow these steps to sort with the Quick Sort command buttons:
- Select one cell in the column you want to sort.
- On the Excel Ribbon, click the Data tab.
- Click Sort A to Z (smallest to largest / oldest to newest) or Sort Z
to A (largest to smallest / newest to oldest)
Check the Results
Immediately after sorting, and before you do anything else:
- Check the sorted data, to see if the
data has been sorted correctly.
If anything looks incorrect, or out of order:
- Immediately click
the Undo button on the toolbar
Sort Buttons on Quick Access Toolbar
If you sort frequently, you can add the Sort buttons to your Quick Access Toolbar (QAT). That makes it even easier to do a quick sort in Excel. There are "how to" steps on the Quick Access Toolbar page. that show how to add buttons.
Then, to use those Sort icons, follow the steps in the Quick Sort with A-Z Buttons section, but use the QAT buttons instead.

Sort Two or More Columns
If you want to sort 2 or more columns in an Excel table,
use the Sort dialog box, where you can set up a multi-level sort.
In this example, the table contains
personal data, and it will be sorted by 3 columns:
- First, by Gender
- Next, by State
- Finally, by Birth Year
Sort by 3 Columns
Follow these steps to safely sort the data set, by the 3 columns - gender, state and birth year:
- First, select all the cells in the list.
- This is the safest approach to sorting. In most cases, you can select
one cell and Excel will correctly detect the rest of the list --
but it's not 100% certain. Some of the data may be missed.
- On the Excel Ribbon, click the Data tab.
- In the Sort & Filter group, click the Sort button.

Add Sorting Levels
Next, follow these steps to add the first sorting level:
- Click the Add Level button, to add the first sorting level.
- From the Sort by dropdown, select the first column you
want to sort.
- In this example, Gender will be the first column sorted.

Note: If the dropdown is showing Column letters instead
of headings, add a check mark to My data has
headers.

Select Sort On Option
- Next, from the Sort On dropdown menu, select the option that you want.
- We're
sorting on the values in the Gender column, so leave the default
setting of Values.
- Next, from the Order drop down menu, select one of the options.
- The
list of Order options will depend on what you selected in the Sort
On column.
- Because we selected values, the Order options are A to
Z, Z to A and Custom List.
- We'll select A to Z, which will sort the items from smallest to largest.

Add More Levels
If you are sorting on multiple columns, you can add a level for each column that you want to sort.
- To add another level, click the Add Level button,
- Then, select options from its drop down boxes, just as you did for the first sort level
In this example we are sorting by Gender, then by State (second level), and then by BirthYr (third level). In the screen shot below, all 3 fields have been added in the Sort dialog box.
- Sort On: All 3 fields are sorted on Values.
- Order: Because the BirthYr column contains
only numbers, its Order drop-down options are slightly different from the
text column options.

Apply the Sort
After you have selected all the Sort levels that you need, and their options,
it's time to apply the sort settings.
- In the Sort dielaog box, click the OK button.
Check the Sort
After you click OK, the data will be sorted in the order that you specified.
- Warning: It's good practice to check the sorted data, immediately after you sort it.
- Then, if you spot any problems, you can use the Ctrl+Z shortcut, to undo the sort.
For this example, in the screen
shot below, everything was sorted as expected:
- Gender column is sorted first, so all the female names are at
the top.
- Next, the State column is sorted, so females from Alabama are
at the top of the list.
- Finally, the BirthYr is sorted, with the earliest birth years
at the top of each state.

Sort in a Custom Order
In the Sort dialog box, or on the Excel Ribbon, you can select a
sort order, such as A to Z, or Largest to Smallest. In addition to
these standard options, you can sort in a custom order, such as month
order, or weekday order. In this example, we'll sort a column with
weekday names, using the Excel Ribbon command.
Watch the steps for doing a custom sort in the Sort Custom Order
video, or follow the written instructions, below the video.
Sort in a Custom Order
In the Sort dialog box, or on the Excel Ribbon, you can select a
sort order, such as A to Z, or Largest to Smallest. In addition to
these standard options, you can sort in a custom order, such as month
order, or weekday order.
- Tip: To see how to create your own custom list for sorting, go to the Create a Custom List section, below.
Sort by Weekday Names
In this example, we'll sort a column with
weekday names, using the Excel Ribbon command.
To sort in a custom order, follow these steps:
- Select one cell in the column you want to sort.
- Press Ctrl + A, to select the entire region.
- Check the selected area, to make sure that all the data is included.
- On the Excel Ribbon, click the Home tab
- In the Editing group, click the arrow on Sort & Filter.
- Click Custom Sort (or in some versions, Custom Order).

- In the Sort dialog box, select the Day column in the Sort By box.
- From the Order drop down, select Custom List.

- In the Custom dialog box, select a custom list and then click
OK, twice, to close the dialog boxes.

The Day column is sorted in weekday order, instead of alphabetical
order, so Sunday appears at the top of the list.

Create a Custom List
In Excel, you can create custom lists, like the built-in lists of weekdays and months. For example, you could create a custom list of districts, department names, or reporting categories, and then use the custom lists to sort the items in a list or in a pivot table.
Open the Custom Lists Dialog
To open the Custom Lists dialog box, follow these steps, or use the keyboard shortcut in the next section:
- On the Ribbon, click the File tab, and click Excel Options
- If you don't see Options, click More... and then click Options
- At the left, in the list of categories, click Advanced
- At the right, scroll almost to the bottom, to find the General
section
- In that section, click button - Edit Custom Lists.

Keyboard Shortcut to Open Custom Lists Dialog
This is more of a "longcut" than a shortcut, but here's how you can open the Custom Lists dialog box with keystrokes, if you prefer to keep your hands on the keyboard:
- First, to open the Options window, press: Alt + F, T
- Next, to select the Advanced category: Type A (twice)
- Next, to select the Edit Custom List button, press: Alt + O (4 times)
- Finally, to open the Custom Lists dialog box, press: Enter
Create a New Custom List
The entries for the custom list can be imported from a worksheet list, or typed in the Custom Lists dialog box. In this example, the list of cities is typed.
To create a new custom list, follow these steps:
- In the Custom Lists dialog box, under Custom Lists, select NEW
LIST
- Click in the List Entries section, and type your list, pressing
the Enter key after each item, to separate the list items.

- In this example, the list is New York, Boston, Chicago, Seattle,
Los Angeles, Dallas, Miami
Tip: Instead of typing a list in the List Entries box, you can import
a list from the worksheet by selecting the list and clicking the
Import button
- Click OK twice, to close the dialog boxes.
Use the Custom List
You can use the custom
lists when sorting, and you can also use them with the AutoFill
feature.
To quickly create a list, based on a custom list:
- Type any item from a custom list in a cell
- Select the cell, and point to the Fill handle

- Drag down, up, left or right, to complete the list.
Sorting a Row
Instead of sorting your data by columns, you can sort the data by
row. In this example, we'll sort a table of monthly sales, so the
month with the largest sales total is at the left. To do this, we'll
use a right-click popup menu.
You can see the steps in this short Sort by Row video, and read the
detailed instructions below.
Sorting a Row
Instead of sorting your data by columns, you can sort the data by
row. In this example, we'll sort a table of monthly sales, so the
month with the largest sales total is at the left. To do this, we'll
use a right-click popup menu.
To sort by a row, follow these steps:
- Select one cell in the row you want to sort.
- Press Ctrl + A, to select the entire region.
- Check the selected area, to make sure that all the data is included.
- Right-click a cell in the row that you want to sort
- In the popup menu, click Sort, then click Custom Sort.

- In the Sort dialog box, select the Day column in the Sort By box.
- From the Order drop down, select Custom List.
- At the top of the Sort dialog box, click the Options button.

- In the Sort Options dialog box, under Orientation, select Sort Left
to Right.

- Click OK, to close the Options dialog box.
- From the Sort By drop down, select the row that you want to sort.
- There are no headings available, so select the correct Row number.

- Select the Sort On, and the Order options, then click OK.
The data is sorted by the values in the selected row. 

Sort Data by Cell Icon
Watch this short video to see the steps for adding cell icons, and sorting by the selected cell's icon. There are written steps below the video.
When you create a named Excel table, or apply an AutoFilter to a
list, each heading cell gets a drop down arrow. Click that arrow,
and you'll see a variety of sorting and filtering options for the
data.

If you add conditional formatting icons to one of the columns, you
can also sort by those icons. In the screen shot below, Traffic light
icons are being added to the Quantity column.

Sort by Selected Cell Icon
After adding icons, the quickest way to sort by a specific icon is:
- Right-click on a cell that contains the icon you want at the top
of the list
- In the pop-up menu, click Sort
- Click Put Selected Cell Icon On Top

The list is sorted, to move all items with the selected icon to the
top of the list.
Other items are not sorted, and the items that were moved to the
top of the list are left in their original order, within that group.

Sort With Heading Drop Down List
After you have added cell icons, you can also sort by icon from the
drop down list in the heading.
- Click the drop down arrow in the heading cell
- Click Sort by Color
- Click on an icon, to move it to the top of the list

VLOOKUP Sorting Problem
A VLOOKUP formula may return the correct results at first, but then shows incorrect results if the list of items is sorted. This can occur if the reference to the Lookup value includes a sheet name. For example:
=VLOOKUP('Order Form'!B5, Products!$B$2:$C$6,2,FALSE)
NOTE: This problem can occur with other functions too, such as an INDEX/MATCH lookup formula.
Watch this video to see the steps for fixing the problem, and download the VLOOKUP Sorting problem sample file to follow along. The written instructions are on the How to Use Excel VLOOKUP - Examples page.
Get the Excel Files ✅
- Excel Sorting: To try the sorting techniques, get the Sort sample workbook.
The practice workbook is in xlsx file format, and is zipped. It does not contain
any macros.
Get Monthly Excel Tips!
Don't miss my monthly Excel newsletter! You'll get quick tips, article links, and a bit of fun. Add your email, and click Sign Up.
Next, when you get my reply, click the Confirm button. I add this step to protect you from spam!
More Tutorials
Sort Multiple Columns
Sort Data With Macros
Pivot Table Sorting
Pivot Table Sorting Macros
Sort Data - Excel 2003 Basics
Excel Add-in Advanced Sorting
Sort a Row in Excel
Numbers Don't Sort Correctly